Mobile Navigation
Executive Branch »

Executive Branch » The Executive Branch

The executive branch offices exist to enforce or carry out the laws enacted by the legislative branch. The leadership of six elected statewide officers carries out the duties of the Kansas executive branch. Four of the executive officers are established by the Kansas Constitution. The Kansas governor is the highest elected official, and the other three constitutional executive officers are the lieutenant governor (elected as a pair with the governor), the secretary of state and the attorney general. The state treasurer and the commissioner of insurance are elected statewide as established by state statutes.

All offices in the executive branch are either directly or indirectly controlled by one of the statewide elected officials, or are special agencies created by the Legislature to function independently within state government. Major state agencies are headed by cabinet-level secretaries, who are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor.

The structure of the executive branch has evolved over the years to its present form. Governors and legislators have made changes as necessary through executive reorganization orders, constitutional amendments and legislation. In recent years, the efficiency of state government has been increased by combining similar agencies and abolishing antiquated, unnecessary ones.

Current elected officials serving in the executive branch:


  • Laura Kelly
  • Democrat
  • Elected in 2018
Laura Kelly

Lieutenant Governor

  • Lynn Rogers
  • Democrat
  • Elected in 2018
Lynn Rogers

Secretary of State

  • Scott Schwab
  • Republican
  • Elected in 2018
Scott Schwab

Attorney General

  • Derek Schmidt
  • Republican
  • Re-elected in 2018
Derek Schmidt

State Treasurer

  • Jake LaTurner
  • Republican
  • Elected in 2018
Jake LaTurner

Insurance Commissioner

  • Vicki Schmidt
  • Republican
  • Elected in 2018
Ken Selzer