Elections » Registering to Vote
Kansas voters must meet certain criteria to be qualified to vote in their jurisdictions and must take steps to register to vote ahead of time.
Under the Kansas Constitution, each person must meet the following qualifications to register to vote: (a) be 18 years of age on election day; (b) be a resident of the state of Kansas; (c) be a citizen of the United States; (d) if convicted of a felony, have civil rights restored upon completion of all the terms of the felony sentence.
Individuals must provide proof that they reside at the location listed on their registration application. This allows election offices to ensure that the individual is assigned to the correct polling place, and is subsequently given the appropriate ballot.
Individuals who are found guilty of committing a felony are not eligible to vote until they have completed all terms of their sentence. After full completion, they are eligible to re-register, but are not automatically put back on active registration status.
How to Register
A person may register to vote: (a) in person at a county election office; (b) in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles when obtaining or updating a driver's license; (c) by mailing in a completed voter registration application; (d) by completing a form online with a current Kansas driver's license; (e) at various locations in each community, such as libraries, banks and post offices; (f) at any voter registration drive or private or public event where voter registration applications are available.
The Secretary of State's Office worked with the Department of Revenue to establish an online voter registration system. Any individual with a valid Kansas driver's license or nondriver identification card can use the online system to register without needing to submit any paperwork. The program then affixes the signature from the driver's license or ID to the electronic registration and sends the information to the applicant's local county election office.
Individuals without a Kansas driver's license or nondriver ID may fill out a voter registration application that can be found at the Secretary of State's Office, the local county election offices, and various locations throughout the community.
Secretary of State Kris W. Kobach proposed the Secure and Fair Elections Act of 2011, and three months later it was passed by the Kansas Legislature and signed by Governor Sam Brownback. Starting January 1, 2013, each person registering to vote in Kansas for the first time will be required to submit proof of citizenship with the application. The most common types of proof are a copy of a birth certificate, a passport, a naturalization document or a military record.
When to Register
The deadline to register to vote, or to make changes in registration information, is 21 days before an election. Updates to a voter registration record include change of name, change of address, or change of party affiliation.